Nobel Peace Prize goes to UN World Meals Programme


WFP food aid for distribution in Mozambique (file pic)Picture copyright

Picture caption

The WFP estimates it helps about 97 million folks every year

The 2020 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to the United Nations World Meals Programme (WFP) for its efforts to fight starvation.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee stated the WFP had acted “as a driving pressure in efforts to forestall the usage of starvation as a weapon of conflict and battle”.

The prize is price 10m Swedish krona ($1.1m).

The one hundred and first winner of the prize was introduced on the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo.

A WFP spokesman stated it was a “proud second”.

The WFP estimates it helps about 97 million folks a 12 months, in 88 international locations.

Who’re earlier Nobel Peace Prize winners?

The Nobel Peace Prize final 12 months went to Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed, whose peace cope with Eritrea ended a 20-year navy stalemate following their 1998-2000 border conflict.

Former US President Barack Obama gained the prize in 2009, for “his extraordinary efforts to strengthen worldwide diplomacy and co-operation between peoples”.

Different notable winners embody former US President Jimmy Carter (2002); youngster training activist Malala Yousafzai (shared 2014); the European Union (2012); the United Nations and its secretary-general on the time, Kofi Annan, (shared 2001); and Mom Teresa (1979).

What is the background?

The Nobel Prize is likely one of the world’s most essential awards.

It was began in accordance with the desire of Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, with the primary award handed out in 1901.

Nobel Prizes are awarded in a number of classes to folks “who’ve conferred the best profit to humankind” within the earlier 12 months.

The recipient of every Nobel Prize receives three issues:

  • A Nobel diploma, every of which is a novel murals
  • A Nobel medal
  • A money prize, which is break up between winners when there’s a couple of. They should ship a lecture to obtain the cash

There have been some years when the prize has not been awarded – principally through the two world wars.

Nobel Basis guidelines state if no person deserves the prize in a selected class, it’s not awarded and its prize cash is stored for the next 12 months.