The Coinbase cryptocurrency change utility seen on the display screen of an iPhone.

Getty Photos Europe | Getty Photos

Cryptocurrency change Coinbase mentioned on Thursday its retail and professional-focused platforms have been hit by tech issues, with customers reporting issue buying and selling as bitcoin plunged in direction of its greatest one-day drop since September.

California-based Coinbase mentioned on its web site at 14:14 GMT (9:14 a.m. ET) it was investigating connectivity issues, including at 14:42 GMT (9:42 a.m. ET) that it had recognized the issue and carried out an answer.

In a separate submit at 15:21 GMT (10:21 a.m. ET) on its Coinbase Professional web site it mentioned “elevated latencies impacting order entry and settlement” for its Coinbase Professional service, including it was investigating the issue.

A spokesman for Coinbase, one of many greatest cryptocurrency exchanges, declined to remark.

Coinbase customers on Twitter reported issues buying and selling.

One Coinbase Professional consumer advised Reuters by message: “The outage prevented me from submitting a purchase restrict order which might’ve been executed because the restrict worth was met. Right now the order lastly went by however I missed the value for now.”

Bitcoin, the world’s greatest cryptocurrency, slumped as a lot as 13% on Thursday to its lowest since Nov. 16., slamming the brakes on its red-hot rally and sparking a sell-off of smaller cash.

It was final down 9% at $16,904 and on the right track for its greatest one-day drop since Sept 3. The transfer represents a pointy correction from its three-year excessive of its near-record $19,521 hit on Wednesday.